The star-packed entry list of the 2018 Cyprus Rally

17 crew running with R5 cars

 We are just days away from the start of the 2018 Cyprus Rally and preparations are peaking.  The cars and support vehicles with their mechanics are already here with the Service Park slowly taking shape at the Larnaca marina.

A total of sixty two crew are on the entry list for this year’s Cyprus Rally. A list filled with the elite of the European , Middle-East and Cypriot rallying scene. This year’s crews come from 19 different countries: 39 from Cyprus, three from Hungary, two from the Czech Republic, Great Britain and Russia and one crew from countries such as Portugal, Poland, Finland, Germany, Turkey, France, Spain, Italy as well as Brazil and Argentina! Moreover we also have crews from the Middle-East and the Emirates such as Lebanon, Qatar, Kuwait and Oman. Amidst the top crews are: the winner of the Acropolis Rally, Portugal’s Bruno Magalhaes, the five-time Cyprus Rally winner Nasser Al-Attiyah and the 2016 winner, Russia’s Alexey Lukyanuk. These great drivers are set for a challenge from other fast drivers on the list such as the Czech Republic’s Αntonin Tlustak, Hungary’s Nobert Herczig, Poland’s Hubert Ptaszek, Finland’s Jusso Nordgren, Germany’s Albert Von Thurn Und Taxis and many other.

Also present are strong Cypriot entries. A total of ten Cypriot crews will compete for points in the European Rally Championship. One of the is the combination of last year’s local champions and 2018 leaders Simos Galatariotis/Anotnis Antoniou with their Skoda Fabia R5. They come here with great momentum following a huge 4th place Overall in the Acropolis Rally, hoping for an even better result on home turf. The same can be said of the young and talented driver Alexandros Tsouloftas with his Citroen DS3 R5 and his co-driver Antonis Chrysostomou. They had to withdraw from the Acropolis Rally while being fourth overall, but they are ready for bigger things here.

Two more Cypriot crews will run with R5 cars. The combinations of Panagiotis Yiangou/Konstantinos Konstantinou with a Hyundai i20 R5 and Antonis Chilimintris/Stelios Elia with a Citroen DS3 R5, both hoping for a great result. Four of the six crews taking part in ERC2 will be local crews. These are Petros Panteli, Panikos Polykarpou, Andreas Psalti and Michalis Posidias, with Argentinian Juan Carlos Alonso and the Italian Zelindo Melegari being their competition for a position on the podium. The ERC3 category will include 2WD cars and seven fast crews. Amongst them, female British driver Catie Mannings and France’s Laurent Pellier, both of whom driver for the Sainteloc Junior Team with their Peugeot 208 Vti R2’s. Cyprus will be represented by two veterans of the scene. Christos Mannouris with a Citroen DS3 R3T and Konstantinos Televantos with a Ford Fiesta R2.

Thirteen more Cypriot crews will compete for points in the Middle-East Rally Championship. These are Christos Demosthenous, Stauros Antoniou, Kostas Zenonos, Savvas Savva, Andreas Phillippou and George Agathokleous. Strong performances are also expected by Andreou, Yiagkou, Kyriakou, Egglezou, Kostas and Stelios Laos, Rousou and others. In the MERC 2WD category Panagiotis and Andreas Xenophontos with their Honda Civic Type R will chase points. Zacharias Manoli and Kostas Euripidou will driver their own Civic for points in the local Championship. Moreover, there will be an additional 12 Cypriot also taking part in the local championship.

Our Rally will run from the 15th to the 17th of June and will host the fourth round of the European Rally Championship (ERC) and the second round of the Middle-East Rally Championship with a total distance of 758.36km, 204.92km are the Special Stages.

After the Ceremonial Start on Friday evening at 18:30 at Foinikoudes, the action will begin on Saturday the 16th of June with crews covering six special stages (three which will be repeated once in each loop), with a total distance of 94.34km. Cars will spend the night in parc ferme on Saturday evening before setting of on Sunday the 17th with the remaining seven Special Stages. A highlight of the second day is the Super Special Stage in the heart of Nicosia but also the last two Golden Stages which will provide money prizes to the fastest crews. These last two stages are support by Psalits Auto Parts, sole distributor of ΕNEOS Motor Oil lubricants in Cyprus. After the Stages, all the remaining crews will head back to Foinikoudes for the Ceremonial finish at 18:30 on Sunday night.



Download File