Cyprus Rally 2020 Preview

15 October 2020


Cyprus Rally 2020 Preview


Cyprus is hosting the second of three rounds of the Middle East Rally Championship on October 16-18. This is the International Cyprus Rally 2020 in which 24 crews participate this year. The Ceremonail Start is taking place on the afternoon of Friday, October 16 at 17:00 from the Service Park. For the first time in the history of the race, spectators will not be able to attend the start, while also for the first time the entrance to the Service Park is prohibited, as well as the passage of spectators from the starting and finishing points of the special routes.

The spectators will be able to attend safely from the stands the last stage of the race, which is the Eneos Super Special Stage that will take place at Achna Speedway on Sunday, October 18 at 14:00. After that the awards ceremony will follow.

Cyprus Rally 2020 includes a total of eleven special stages which are 97% dirt stages. Six stages will take place on Saturday (17/10) and five on Sunday (18/10).

The Saturday stages located to the west of the province of Nicosia at the foot of the Troodos and are the Thomason Machinery Agios Epifanios, Sigan Xyliatos and Anco Asinou, with two passes, morning and noon.

The Sunday stages are Cablenet Lefkara and Smartway Analyzing, which will also be done twice, before the Eneos Super Special.

The Start List

Nasser Al-Attiyah is in Cyprus who is looking for the seventh victory of his career in our national race - he has won the Rally Troodos nine times. Nasser wants the 10th consecutive Middle East Championship and the 16th of his career. He has already won the Rally Oman. He will race with the French Baumel in Volkswagen Polo R5.

The dominance of the driver from Qatar is threatened by the domestic cream of the sport. 2018 winner Simos Galariotis, last year's Cypriot Champion Petros Panteli, the talented Alexandros Tsouloftas, the winner of the 2007 race Charalambos Timotheou and last year's Cypriot runner-up Panagiotis Yiangou, all with R5 cars. Abdullah Al-Rawahi from Oman, who was second in his home country and second in the standings, will also be at the start line.


Honor to two veterans of the sport

Due to the 50th anniversary of the first International Cyprus Rally , The Cyprus Automobile Association will honor two of the pioneers of motorsport in Cyprus and especially of Cyprus Rally. These are Loris Ellinas and Kokos Ionidis. The prize for the first Cypriot crew is renamed to "Loris Ellinas trophy" while the prize for the first Cypriot crew in the super special stage to "Kokos Ionides trophy".

The race is organized by the Cyprus Automobile Association with Gold Sponsor CABLENET and Sponsors ENEOS lubricants and Psaltis Auto Parts.

The event is supported by the Municipality of Aglantzia, the Cyprus Police, the natural mineral water AGROS, the Shark Energy Drink and the companies Thomason Machinery, Sigan, Anco, Smartway Motors and STS Events.

- END -