24 crews in Cyprus Rally 2020

12 October 2020


24 crews in Cyprus Rally 2020

With the participation of 24 crews from Cyprus and Qatar, Oman, Jordan, Kuwait and France, the Cyprus Rally 2020 will take place on October 16-18. Is the second round of the Middle East Championship and the 4th and 5th rounds of this year's Pancyprian Rally Championship - each of the two racing days is an independent race.

The coronavirus pandemic has affected the participation of foreign crews since due to the prohibition measures in force on cross-border movements it was extremely difficult for racing cars and trucks to support teams, while the restrictions also affect the competitors. For the three foreign crews of the Middle East Championship that participate in the race, significant restrictions will apply, as outside the race car they are allowed to move only between Service Park and hotel accommodation.

Al-Attiyah will be here

Nasser Al-Attiyah from Qatar, who has won the Cyprus Rally six times in the 48 years of the event's history, will take part in the Cyprus Rally 2020. Al-Attiyah will be co-drivered by Frenchman Matthieu Baumel, with whom they won in Cyprus in both 2017 and 2019. They will compete in the Volkswagen Polo R5 with which they won last year. Nasser leads the Middle East Championship by winning the Rally Oman, while next month at the Rally of Lebanon he aspires to be crowned Middle East Champion for the 10th consecutive year and 16th time in his huge career.

Domestic Competition

The talented Alexandros Tsouloftas will compete with the No2 at the doors of a Volkswagen Polo R5, with the experienced Stelios Elias as his co-driver. No. 3 in a Ford Fiesta R5 is Abdullah Al-Rawahi (Oman) with Ata Al Hmoud (Jordan), who were second in the opening race of the season in Oman.

The Cypriot Champions of 2019 Petros Panteli / Kypros Christodoulou will run at No. 4 with a Citroen DS3 R5. Last year's Cypriot championship runners-up Panagiotis Giangou / Panagiotis Kyriakou competing with the same type of car, while 2018 winner Simos Galatariotis participated with No. 6, with Antonis Ioannou and a Volkswagen Polo R5 next to him.

The winner of 2007, Charalambos Timotheou runs with a Skoda Fabia R5 with co-driver Antonis Chrysostomou. Costas Zenonos / Fanos Christofi (Citroen DS3) and Antonis Heilimintris / Pampos Laos (Skoda Fabia) will also race in an R5 car.

In the battle of Mitsubishi Lancer Evo stand out the participations of Christos Demosthenous / Costa Pavlou, Panikou Polykarpou / Konstantinos Sialos, Savva Savva / Andrea Papandreou but also of Meshari Al-Thefiri (Kuwait) / Nasser Al-Kuwari who was in Qatar (Qatar) of this year's Rally Oman.

There are four entries in the two-wheel category:

Konstantinos Televantos / Takis Stavrou Peugeot 208
Chrysostomos Pantelis / Thomas Theofanous Ford Fiesta 1.6
Zacharias Manoli / Costas Evripidou Honda Civic Type R
Nikolas Chatzimatheou / Marios Chatzimatheou Honda Civic Type R

The Ceremonial Start will be on Friday, October 16 at 17:00 from the Service Park in Aglantzia. It will be a simple ceremony and will take place without the presence of spectators. It is generally strictly forbidden for spectators to enter the Service Park but also to enter the special routes from the start and finish points.

The race is organized by the Cyprus Automobile Association with Gold Sponsor CABLENET and Sponsors ENEOS lubricants and Psaltis Auto Parts. The event is supported by the Municipality of Aglantzia, the Cyprus Police, the natural mineral water AGROS, the Shark Energy Drink and the companies Thomason Machinery, Sigan, Anco, Smartway Motors and STS Events

-end -