Galatariotis leads the Cyprus Rally after loop 1 of leg 1


[Nicosia, Sept. 25, 2021] - Simos Galatariotis / Antonis Ioannou won all three of the Saturday (25/9) morning special stages and lead the overall classification of the 49th Cyprus Rally. In second place, 27.9 seconds behind, are Alexandros Tsouloftas / Stelios Elias and in third place Nasser Al Attiyah / Matthieu Baumel are 46.9 seconds behind the leaders.


The gap built by the Cypriot crew is significant, given that the total length of the stages was 47.47km. All three leaders are driving a Volkswagen Polo GTi. The order of ranking of the first three crews was the same in all three stages.


In fourth place of the overall classification are Demosthenes / Pavlou (Skoda Fabia), followed by Al Rawahi / Hmoud (Ford Fiesta) and Yiangou / Englezou (Hyundai i20). In the MERC 2 category, first are Christodoulou / Xenofontos ((Subaru Impreza WRX) ). In the two-wheel drive category Televantos / Stavrou (Peugeot 208) are in the lead.


The cars returned for their service in Aglantzia before they will repeat the morning stages, which are Nikitari (14:12 CY), Kapouras (14:50 CY) and Kourdali (15:48 CY). They will then return for the large, 45-minute service at the end of the day at 17:28 CY.


The ceremonial start of the 49th Cyprus Rally was given on Friday evening (24/9) in front of the Old Town Hall in Eleftheria Square.


This year's event is sponsored by Cablenet, ENEOS Motor Oil lubricants of Psaltis Auto Parts, Honda Galatariotis, ANCO Catering Equipment, Prodata and Farmakas Water. It is supported by the Municipalities of Nicosia and Aglantzia as well as the Cyprus Police.



Live results at


The event covers a total of 665.74km of which 180.92km consist the 12 gravel special stages.