The Cyprus Rally 2021 has started


[Nicosia, Sept. 24, 2021] - The 49th International Cyprus Rally has official begun, with the start ceremony at Eleftheria Square in the centre of Nicosia, on Friday, September 24, 2021. The event is organized by the Cyprus Automobile Association. The racing aspect will unfold on the weekend, with twelve special stages taking place, leading up to the finish ceremony on Sunday (26/09, 18:00 CY), again in Eleftheria Square. The start and finish ceremonies are taking place in the heart of the capital, more than two decades since it was last staged in the area, thus sending to the entire world the image of the renewed historic centre of the Cypriot capital.


The ceremonial start to the Cyprus Rally was presented by the Ambassador of Qatar to Cyprus, His Excellency Ali Bin Yousef Al Mulla, the President of the Cyprus Automobile Association Mr. Antonis Michaelides, the Chairman of the Sports & Youth Committee of the Municipality of Nicosia Mr. Valerios Danielides on behalf of the Mayor of Nicosia, Municipal Counsel of Nicosia Mrs. Isabella Tymviou and Mr. Nikos Psaltis on behalf of the sponsor Psaltis Auto Parts and ENEOS Motor Oil.


Nasser Al Attiyah / Matthieu Baumel started first with a Volkswagen Polo, the winners of the three of the last four editions. Al Attiyah holds the record of victories in our national race with 7 wins. He has claimed 17 Middle Eastern Championships and is currently leading this year following three rounds. If he wins again in Cyprus and Al Thefiri does not score any points, then he will be crowned the MERC champion in Cyprus for the 18th time.


They were followed by the Cypriot leaders of the Panhellenic Rally Championship Alexandros Tsouloftas / Stelios Elia (Volkswagen Polo) and Abdullah Al Rawahi from Oman with co-driver At Al Hmoud (Jordan) driving a Ford Fiesta.


Then came the Cypriot champions Simos Galatariotis / Antonis Ioannou, winners of the Cyprus Rally 2018 with a Volkswagen Polo and Petros Panteli / Pampos Laos (Citroen DS3) to be followed by Turkish Cypriot Rauf Denktas with co-driver Mehmet Mison and Hyundai i20. The crew is competing under the Turkish flag.


A total of 32 crews are representing Cyprus and nine other countries from three continents: Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Jordan, Russia, Turkey, Andorra, Poland and New Zealand.


Our national rally is the fourth in this year's Middle East Rally Championship, with the events in Kuwait and Oman remaining to close the curtain of the season. Cyprus Rally will also serve as the 4th and 5th rally of the Pancyprian Championship (every day will act as a separate race), while there are still two rounds left (in Limassol and Paphos) to complete the championship.


The cars will stay overnight at the Service Park in Aglantzia and on Saturday morning (25/9) they will start at 08:30 for the special stages in Nikitari, Kapouras and Kourdali which will be repeated in the afternoon. On the morning of Sunday (26/9) the stages of Lythrodontas, Agios Epiphanios and Agia Marina will take place and will be repeated in the afternoon.


This year's event is sponsored by Cablenet, ENEOS Motor Oil lubricants of Psaltis Auto Parts, Honda Galatariotis, ANCO Catering Equipment, Prodata and Farmakas Water. It is supported by the Municipalities of Nicosia and Aglantzia as well as the Cyprus Police.


All announcements and information about Cyprus Rally will be posted on the digital bulletin board of the event in the Sportity application that is available on Google Play and App Store. Access to the application is done by using the code CR2021.


Live results at


The event covers a total of 665.74km of which 180.92km are included in the 12 gravel special stages.