Tsouloftas comfortably in the lead, halfway through the final day

After winning all three special stages on Sunday (26/9) morning, Alexandros Tsouloftas and co-driver Stelios Elia, with a Volkswagen Polo, are set to claim their first ever win in the Cyprus Rally. The Cypriot crew are leading by 6 minutes and 58 seconds ahead of Al Rawahi / Al Hmoud (Ford Fiesta) who inherited the second place, after the decision by Galatariotis / Ioannou to not start the second leg on Sunday. Currently Panteli / P. Laos (Citroen DS3) are in third place, 26.6 seconds behind the second position.

Three afternoon special stages remain for the end of the event, with Tsouloftas being in a good position to hold on to his big lead. The second position is still open, while Yiangou / Englezou (Hyundai NG i20) will make their push to claim a spot on the podium, being 61 seconds behind third place, at the end of the 9th special stage.

It should be noted that the stewards decided at the end of the first leg, a one-minute penalty to be imposed on Galatariotis / Ioannou, as it was found that they deviated from the course of the rally in two instances. That resulted for the crew to drop from first to second place, 33.1 seconds behind the leaders.

In MERC 2, Antoniou / Pieri (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) are ahead by 3.5 seconds of Christodoulou / Xenophontos (Subaru Impreza), while Televantos / Stavrou with a Peugeot 208 are leading in the 2WD category.

Those out of the rally

Of the 31 crews that started the rally -Filippou / S. Laos did not start after failing to pass the additional technical inspection requested- three did not start on Sunday morning (26/9). Al Attiyah / Baumel and Denktas / Mison retired, while Galatariotis / Ioannou withdrew. The following, although they did not complete the first leg, started the second leg under SupeRally: Michaelides / L. Laos, Al Wahaibi / Sircombe, Zenonos / Christofi, Dimosthenous / Pavlou, Christodoulou / Nestoros, Ellinas / Pouyioukkas, Aref / Jan Khout, Ch. Panteli / I. Pieri, Lavrentiev / Szechenyi and Morozov / Morozova.

At noon on Sunday (26/9) the stages Lythrodontas (13:27 CY), Agios Epiphanios (14:25 CY) and Agia Marina (15:13 CY) will take place, while the finish ceremony will start at 18:00 CY in Eleftheria Square in the centre of Nicosia.

This year's event is sponsored by Cablenet, ENEOS Motor Oil lubricants of Psaltis Auto Parts, Honda Galatariotis, ANCO Catering Equipment, Prodata and Farmakas Water. It is supported by the Municipalities of Nicosia and Aglantzia as well as the Cyprus Police.

Live results at https://timing.sporttraxx.com/races/cyprus-2021/#itinerary.

The race covers a total of 665.74km of which 180.92km are included in the 12 gravel special stages.